The Elaine Marieb Faculty Chair for Teaching Excellence

Prof. Ileana Vasu at Commencement.

They can...

  • make a boring subject interesting
  • make a difficult subject easy
  • make your time in a classroom a breeze
  • make all the difference in your life

They are the professors you want to nominate for Holyoke Community College's Marieb Award for Teaching Excellence! If you have a favorite professor who has made a difference in your education here at HCC, we want to know about it.

About the award:

The Elaine Marieb Faculty Chair for Teaching Excellence was established to recognize a full-time member of the faculty (who has worked at HCC for more than five years) who exemplifies the characteristics associated with outstanding classroom teaching. Each year, one member of the faculty is named to the Elaine Marieb Chair for Teaching Excellence and will receive an award of not less than $4,400 to support activities that will further enhance their professional skills. During the year that a faculty member holds the chair, an appropriate plaque will be placed in their office and they lead the procession of graduates at Commencement, carrying the ceremonial mace. The Elaine Marieb Faculty Chair for Teaching Excellence not only provides recognition, it sets a standard for excellence in teaching which other faculty can seek to emulate.

To nominate a teacher, fill out the form below or pick up a form at the following locations:

  • in the Institutional Development Office (Don 170)
  • in the Academic Affairs Office Fr (321)
  • in any divisional office

A few simple sentences could make your favorite professor our Marieb Chair for the coming year.

2017 Nominations: Thank you for your interest. Submissions for the 2017 Marieb Chair Award are now closed.

Photo: 2016 Marieb Faculty Chair Prof. Ileana Vasu at Commencement in May 2016.


Holyoke Community College
303 Homestead Ave. Holyoke, MA 01040